Concrete floors

Ok, this last week has been a bit of a busy one. We had the downstairs floors polished. We…….well I say we…….Cole had been researching the best way to finish our floors. Stain, seal, wax or polish? Or a combination? We went with polish, it is supposed to have less upkeep and more durable? And I wanted to stay with the natural concrete color anyway. We found a very reputable guy about an hour away. He polishes floors for u-haul. Ha!!! Seriously the faces that people made when I told them our floor was going to look like Home Depot. 😳

2015/01/img_2160.jpg
From the loft, it’s a bit darker than this…..the dust has settled a bit.

2015/01/img_2157.jpg
Here is a close up, in the living room.

2015/01/img_2159.jpg
This is the hallway from the master.

So we love it ❀️. We even love the cracks 😊

2015/01/img_2161.jpg
Little C’s room.

The man who did it had never done a floor quite like this, he usually takes more off, to show a bit of the aggregate. We wanted to keep the “cream” as he called it. This way we keep a bit more color variations. And the swirls that were left when they were pouring the concrete. They went over the floors three times. With an 200 grit, then a 400, then an 800. They could have gone way shinier but this sheen is perfect for us.

I found these next two pictures on Pinterest. They look just like our floors. I am pretty sure both pictures are homes in the Netherlands.

2015/01/img_2153.png

2015/01/img_2150.png
Loving it!!!!

Our wood for the upstairs floor came last week. We are going to give it a month to acclimate. So now I have to decide how I am going to finish that. Paint or wax or stain?????? Decisions!

Happy Saturday!!!
H😊

14 thoughts on “Concrete floors

    • Thanks Jo, we are so happy with the way it turned out. Raw is a good word to describe the floors. I really wasn’t sure how it was going to look. But yes, happily it doesn’t look like a Home Depot floor. 😊. It is actually kinda artsy……this whole house has become rather artsy. Now to find some rugs that compliment the floors.

    • Oh thank you so much for your kind comment. πŸ˜„. These are the first concrete floors I have ever had. It will be interesting to learn first hand the pros and cons. :). Yes…..the rug hunt is on. (Haha)

  1. Beautiful floors πŸ™‚ Love how they turned out, including the cracks!!! Seeing yours, I’m thinking we should have just gone with polish too, instead of staining. We are in a staining concrete nightmare right now. I haven’t had to heart to post about it… maybe I will eventually… once they are fixed – hoping they get fixed!

  2. Wow! It all looks amazing. Had a look at the last few posts too, looove the chandelier and fireplace too! Santa’s gonna have fun coming down that.

    • Thank you TCSC ❀️ my style is not the norm around here. But that’s what’s fun right!? Finding our unique style πŸ˜„. Thanks for following me. Looking forward to following your blog a well.

  3. Wow, this is like my dream house! Nice work! I ripped up our carpet in our bedroom and painted the plywood grey. It sorta looks like concrete…haha! πŸ™‚
    ~Kayla

    • Thanks Kayla :). Your floors sound great……I am not a fan of carpet. And I love painted floors. So glad you found me. Looking forward to following you too. (We have decided to homeschool our two oldest next year…..I will be reading through your blog and getting pointers). It’s a huge step for us.

      • Yay, so excited for you that you’re starting homeschool! I hope it’s a great year for you.

Leave a comment