Lighting the great room

Ahhhhh….the lighting of the great room. This has been a puzzler for us….but I think we have figured it out?? Possibly? The room is 50 ft, by 30 ft, with a 28 ft ceiling. The walls are 16ft tall. And the bottom of the truss is at 20 feet. Got it???? 😳. If it matters the ceiling pitch of the roof is 10/12.

20140531-102419-37459635.jpg
This photo is taken from the upstairs loft (playroom).

20140531-102721-37641280.jpg
Ok….this photo shows the entire right side wall……under the truss on the right side wall is going to be an exposed duct. It will be 18 inches in diameter.

20140531-103148-37908499.jpg
Very much like this (but on the other side).

20140531-103254-37974487.jpg
In the right corner you can see where the top duct will come out of the back wall…take a little turn and head across the right wall. (That corner is the kitchen).

20140531-103446-38086269.jpg
This photo shows the vaulted ceiling….with the flat ceiling of the dormer.

20140531-103715-38235588.jpg
Sorry this picture is fuzzy. But here is the great room plans. The trusses (there are five) and the ridge beam, and the beams that go below and above the dormer, are all indicated with dotted lines.

Ok!!!! Hope you are still with me!

So this is our plan…I think. On the wall, in between the trusses we are going to put a two or three spotlight track light. The ones behind the A/C duct will be fairly hidden, so it’s just the front door wall you will see them. And they will be white on a white wall. I think they will easily disappear.

20140531-104920-38960159.jpg
Something like this…one spotlighting the truss to the left one spotlighting the truss to the right and the middle one facing across to the opposite ceiling. I would love LED’s but we might just buy some lesser expensive ones now and it will be easy to change out one day. Still have to do some research on prices.

20140531-105932-39572884.jpg
Ok (I sincerely apologize for the crayon)!!! The three red X’s are the three chandeliers. The one in the living room (in front of the fireplace) will be a eight/nine foot chandelier. The one over the dining table will be a bit smaller, maybe six feet. Then the one in the kitchen is off center, off the dormer beam, so it is over the middle island. Lighting up the kitchen area.
The green X is an 8 foot industrial fan. The one we are getting is the MacroAir, Air Elite.

20140531-111415-40455676.jpg
Now I use the word Chandelier looslely!!!! They may be large pendants….or a “something” repurposed into a light.

20140531-112143-40903669.jpg
This is a binder…..it is a farm implement that was used in the twenties and thirties. (I found this photo in country living UK). We have two of them in one of our old barns.

20140531-113633-41793199.jpg
My girlfriend saw these and saw a chandelier……I could see it!!! Over the dining room table. Now I have gotten some very varied reaction to these. From “I can totally see that”. To “what are you smoking”. I have no idea how I can make it work. I don’t know if I can make it work. I just think with all white walls and the old wood…..that crazy binder just might look cool?

20140531-115444-42884141.jpg
I am thinking one of these big 200 watt old barn pendants in the kitchen??
The living room?????? I have no idea.

Well that was a bit long winded!!!! Thanks if you made it through.
Any input is welcome, and it won’t hurt my feeling if you hate my binder. 🙂

H 🙂

6 thoughts on “Lighting the great room

  1. I’m completely with you on this! I think you’ve done a great job. The only thing I’m not sure I’m understanding correctly is the measurement of the chandeliers. I think you’re giving a length (in feet) from the ceiling to the pendant, i.e. cord length?? Or are you referring to a diameter?

    I love that you haven’t tried to achieve symmetry. I wouldn’t worry about hiding/disguising the spotlights. They are going to be small in the scale of things. It wouldn’t hurt if they were other colours, especially if they look a bit industrial/old beside your duct.

    I love the binder idea. The scale would be perfect. I envision it hung so that the binder is horizontal with each arm fitted with a light. Over the dining table! Only problem is potential shared space with the fan. I like the fan also, but I can’t picture having both near the centre of the room. Hmmm….

    I also love those barn pendants in the last picture, definitely for the kitchen. Probably for the living room too. I think you’ll need some extra “task lighting” also. Wall mounted for the kitchen. Freestanding or table lamps elsewhere. I think you are just about there.

    Finally, whoa! I’d done the sums before (converting your great room dimensions to metres) and I knew your great room was big, but whoa! Your kids can get married in there one day!

    • Thanks Johanne for taking the time to read this :). We were thinking a big light fixture/chandelier in the living room area….the diameter of the chandelier being 9 feet long. A lady from a light store came out and thought that we should define the space with a big light. Her suggestion was the huge chandelier. But I am not sold on that size. I guess I will just know it when I see it. I think the big barn pendent would work.

      I was a bit worried about the fan being off center, our architect originally had two smaller fans on truss two and four. But these big fans are made for barns and big buildings and are low speed, high velocity. So they will keep the air moving without feeling like your in a wind storm. The fan will be quite close to the ceiling….the dining room fixture is below the third truss. So they actually won’t be very close to each other height wise. The fan should really help energy efficiency.

      I am planning on goose neck lights over the open shelves in the kitchen…..they will light up the counter top by the fridge and stove. Maybe some lighting under the shelves. Then eventually I will put some sort of task lighting on the L shaped island. I am going to have it all wired to put pendants off the beam over that L shaped island…..hopefully the chicken feeders I have. But I am not going to put them in right away. Because I don’t know if it will be too much hanging down. I want to live with less before I decide 🙂

      We have floor plugs in the living room….so we will have floor lamps. And one or two lamps by the wood stove across from the kitchen.

      I am finally starting to feel comfortable about our lighting. It has been the hardest part so far, decision wise. With our old wood ceiling material I didn’t want lots of lights detracting from the look. But I think with the tract lighting on the walls we have eliminated that problem. (Our architect and our electrician wanted to put can lights in the ceiling, but I was so against that in that old wood). I wouldn’t have minded it if we were going with a white drywall ceiling.

      The room is huge…..like crazy huge….it didn’t look that big on paper :). We are starting to get used to the feel of it. I am feeling pretty spoiled 😄.

      • :). Thanks girl…were you still thinking of making lights out of lobster/crab baskets?? ( I can’t remember which). I guess now I need to get online to figure out how to convert all this crazy stuff into light fixtures. Thanks for all the input….truly appreciated.

  2. Huge room – LOVE IT! and I thought our floor plan on our main floor was open… you can’t get more open than what you’ve got here 🙂

    I love the idea of repurposing for your chandeliers – how fun! And love, love, love the barn pendant. Wood trusses, exposed ducts… I can’t wait to see this space when it’s done!! It is going to be a very large, full of wonderful things space.

    • Thank you Jennifer….

      I am really hoping the repurposed lighting works. The only concern is that the binder is open and airy….I am working on how to get lights on it without it looking chunky….and taking away from the piece. If all else fail it/they will be art in some corner somewhere.

      I love using old things to decorate. I love history, this farm has lots of history….I hope I can accomplish a good feel…..without going too far.

Leave a Reply

