Front door

This week they have been working on the windows and siding. And Thursday the front door went in.

20140301-125837.jpg
All the windows and doors are white. Except the front door is black and the window above it is black. (The brilliant idea of our window guy) I looked and looked for a front door and decided I wanted one with windows so I went with the same company as our windows so they all match. They are Marvin doors and windows . And worth every dollar if you ask me. The door is very simple. I love that.

20140301-130201.jpg
From the inside. (I am thinking about painting the inside of the door black too.). Not sure yet tho???

20140301-130352.jpg
The entry all sided….the two white pieces of trim at the bottom of the door are the two different colors of white paint we are thinking of. One is called Gypsum and one is commercial white. The gypsum is the longer piece and it is what we are leaning towards. Its a bit of a warmer white.

20140301-133127.jpg
And now I am going to brag on my husband. He welded these square tube posts to go on the porch. They are going to be covered up by rock. But he did a beautiful job of welding them. When the framers put them up they fit perfectly. One was one sixteenth of an inch off which is about the thickness of a dollar bill. So he did good. I know I was proud of him.

20140301-134231.jpg
His pretty weld….I had to put it on here because like I said it’s going to be rocked over.

I will post some more window pictures soon. There are 45 windows and six double doors and one single door. So it’s been a long week getting them in. There are eight more windows to go and six doors. It should really be looking like a finished house (from the outside) next week.

Happy weekend

H

2 thoughts on “Front door

  1. Beautiful front door! Wow 45 windows! I’ll need to count how many we’ll have… I don’t think it’s nearly that high. Six double doors – you aren’t messing around 🙂 We’ll have 3 double, and 3 single. Can’t wait to see your finished outside house!!

    • Thanks Jennifer. I actually took two sets of double doors out of the house that were in our plans. They were both in the screen porch. (There were originally five sets of double doors in the screened in porch). But that left very little wall space for furniture. So we changed it.

      And we have two sets of french doors coming out of our bedroom and we changed one into a non opening version. It looks like french doors with all the hardware, but doesn’t open.

      So many decisions.

Leave a Reply

