Our eldest is going to be 10

This tuesday my big girl is going to be 10. Ten years I have been a mother. It seems like it has gone very fast, but it also seems like it was a long time ago that she was a tiny sweet baby girl.

This is a bit of a random, what we did over the weekend post, but it was just so fun I had to share. Hope you guys all had a great weekend. Some of the photos are from my I phone so excuse the bad quality. I just wanted a couple shots for keepsakes for these girls as they grow up.

20130915-204455.jpg T when she was 8

We had a little birthday party this weekend. We called it a BBQ, I guess so we (I)wouldn’t feel bad about not inviting all her friends to her “Birthday Party”. We have had birthday parties with all her classmates at a park, we have had them with all her girlfriends here at our farm. But this year I told her to pick two friends and we would find something fun to do. She wanted to have them over at the house and play American Girl dolls. “Ok…. I can do that.” I even said they could sleep over. ( She has only ever had one friend over to sleep, so this was a big treat)

But she had three girls. Three sweet little friends that she couldn’t leave out. So two became three, and I decided no sleep over. Good to go!!! So I talked to the three moms and we decided the kids (we had 7 siblings with the four girls) could ride horses, eat an early supper then play dolls.

On friday Hubs ran over to a good friends and borrowed a smoker, so we could have a smoked brisket for the BBQ. (My guy is an amazing self taught cook). We got up at around 5:30 and started a fire in the smoker, with the help of our two littlest who are our early risers. Then we put the brisket in, sat on the porch, drank our coffee and watched the sun rise. It was pretty blissful.

The fun started at around 3, all the kids got a chance to ride Blue and Dunny the big horses and mess around lead, and ride cowboy, the pony. Then whoever wanted to got to help unsaddle and hose off horses. They all loved it.

Then we ate, we had the brisket with homemade potato salad, beans (canned I cheated) and a beautiful green salad, with my fav homemade dressing. And Hubs made his Mom’s “famous” (as my kiddos say) homemade cheese cake for a birthday cake. YUMMO!

After dinner the moms and I drove over to the house site and looked around while the Dads were on kid duty. Only one bandaid needed upon our return. 🙂 Not bad for 7 girls and 4 boys ranging in ages from 3 to 12. And two Dads.

When the moms got back, the kids had decided that a sleepover was indeed necessary. It was an easy yes for me because I had originally thought a sleepover would be fun. So two friends and one sweet little sister spent the night. The last set of parents didn’t leave until 10:45pm, (one little guy was zonked on the couch.) So it was after 11 when five girls in one little room were tucked into bed. Within about 20 min, all the little people were sound asleep. Sweetness.

The crew woke at 7:30, ate pancakes and got right to playing. Some inside with their dolls and some outside in the pastures visiting horses, and knocking down wasps nests. (that is how my 6 year old little Miss T rolls, yikes :/ ). There was not one fight, one cross word. They had good old fashioned fun. They were all dirty and tired when it was time to go home. And I was so proud. So proud that my girl has such kind, respectful friends. And proud that kids can still have a fun time without a limo ride to a movie or a bouncy house, the mall or video games or TV. Not that I have any problem with any of that stuff. Its just so nice to see kids using their imagination and being kids.

When one of my friends came to pick up her daughter today she told me her 7 year old son said to her today “for my birthday I am going to have my party at the jump house (in town) or at Ms Holly’s house” It made me feel good that everyone had as much fun as we did.

Big T is getting a sewing machine from my inlaws for her birthday. But she can’t open it until her actual birthday. She is going to be soooo excited!

Ten years of loving our sweet girl.

20130915-203747.jpg
Big T with my niece L.

20130915-203854.jpg
Big T with “Cowboy” when she was 3.

20130915-203956.jpg
Silly girls giving the horses “bunny ears” Cowboy the little paint pony was a santa gift when Big T was 3.

20130915-204105.jpg
Pancake breakfast, notice some dolls at the table?

20130915-204217.jpg
Riding yesterday.

Hope you enjoyed the post, have a great week.

Leave a Reply

